relax, take it easy

1

Hey there, friends. It’s been too long, I’m sorry.

Yeah, I know. You, me and everyone else has probably just had one of the most stressful weeks ever. Duke of Edinburgh expeditions…Exam week…Getting results back…

But that’s okay, you know, because it’s over now. It’s the weekend! You should be at home, sinking deeply into your favourite sofa (or blue chair). Those feet should be propped up on the table, too. That’s right, go right ahead (as long as it’s not your dining room table. That’s just plain gross!).

Yes, you should be doing that…unless you’re me. You see, my brother came home again and that means lots of work for me. Lots of dishes to wash and tables to wipe. And lots of food to make.

2

So yeah, that’s what I’ve been doing all day. I’ve rebounded straight back into the kitchen scene and I love it. Well, except for the washing dishes part. Nothing’s perfect.

But seriously, I’ve made so much food today. I made breakfast…little whole-wheat pancakes. The whole healthy aura was ruined slightly when I mercilessly drowned them in maple syrup. Mmm…maple syrup.

I also made sandwiches for lunch. Creamy crab for my brother, chickens and olives for my mom and good ‘ol ham for me. That’s mine up there. I love it when my food looks like a rainbow. It makes me feel all cheerful and gay. In the cheerful sense. (:

And of course, there was cake. Where would my weekend be without cake? I had some Nutella sitting here at home that was just begging to be used. Hey, it asked for it! And I thought….what goes well with Nutella? Why, chocolate. Everything goes with chocolate. Of course, everything goes with Nutella as well, though I have to say the best way to enjoy Nutella is directly out of the jar with a spoon. Savour it slowly, guys!

I know there are so many people out there who refuse to sift. Why is it such a big deal?? Does it really make a difference? I implore you guys. No! I beg! Please please please sift your ingredients when baking. It makes such a huge difference. Maybe it’s just my overpowering hate for lumps talking, but this, my friends is why we need to sift:

3

Yeah. Check out that huge ass lump of cocoa powder on the right. That is not something you want to bite into in your cupcake.

“Mmm…delicious…chocolatey…ARHKGAD. UNSWEETENED COCOA POWDER! ARGHA KOFF KOFF KOFF”

And then you would choke to death on the dry lump of cocoa powder. Is that what you want?? You want to die a horrible death choking on your hideous tumour of a lump of cocoa? So be it. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. REFUSE TO SIFT AT YOUR OWN RISK!

5

Besides, sifting is soo rewarding, especially when you’re rewarded with such innocent little chocolate cupcakes. Oh how naive they are, all unfrosted and such. But that’s going to change…this is a great example of when good goes bad.

4

Oh, so very bad. You see, chocolate cupcakes and Nutella frosting are the naughty couple of cupcakes. Enough chocolate to be completely and utterly addictive, and the hazelnutty taste of Nutella just gives it that twist that makes it oh-so-much better.

6

The best thing? These cupcakes are easier than pie to make. I mean this quite literally. Pie takes quite a while to make, you know. So really, it’s been a tough couple of weeks. Relax, take it easy.

With Love,

7

(It wasn’t me.)

Posted on June 3, 2010, in Cake, Menu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. *sings*
    1, 121, 12321, 1234321….

    hehe.
    i’m weird.

    why does your nutella look so light? mine is like a really dark brown…

  2. Not Anonymous

    Physics > Bio.

    But this blog really does make me wonder if baking > cooking…

  3. JEANNN!

    Damn, those cupcakes look awesome. But I don’t really like Nutella. I hate nuts + chocolate DB<

    And that image at the top is why I chose chem over biology. I still have the first draft of my World Lit due on Monday x_x but it's definitely great that exams are over!

    • Yay!! Oh well. No Nutella for you, more Nutella for me 😀 It all works out.

      DUDE, chem is SO much harder than biology. Biology is like relaxation time! Plus, chem is boring, haha. No one CARES about free radicals or alpha/pi bonding D:

      Ouch, World Lit draft. Thankfully I’ve handed both of mine in. Too bad they’re both crap LOL. At least it’s the hols soon (:

      • WHY does your school do everything so early? We’ve just started thinking about second WL assignments. Anyway, I do Chem SL, so no alpha/pi bonding for me. Everyone who does Bio here is dying, anyway. Maybe you guys are just more…biologically inclined?

        YAYYY 19 DAYS UNTIL SUMMER!

Leave a Reply

